3-5-12 – Afternoon Bite

I decided late in the day that I would head out to fish for the afternoon bite on an inland pond because it was such a nice day. I got on the ice at 3:30 and started fishing. For the first half hour I was doing well; Catching bluegill and pumpkinseed here and there and it was warm. Shortly after 4, the wind picked up out of the south blowing across the entire lake before it hit me and it cooled down big time! I hung out as long as I could but ended up leaving before it was dark.

The fish were hard to entice into biting but when they did, they bit hard. The best technique I found was to fish fast and be constantly moving up and down in the water column. I also have had better success at this lake using no more and no less than 3 maggots. I get more lookers after one or two of the spikes have been torn off after a bite and more misses when I put 4 or more on. For a short day on the ice, things went well. I caught quite a few fish but none of the big gills that I was after. The one pictured below was thin 9 3/4″ .

Leave a comment