2-11-13 – The Day Bite

I slept in this morning waiting on the weather to either quit or for a break in the snow, sleet, and rain. The snow came down most of the morning and was suppose to switch over to sleet for the mid day. Not wanting to get stuck away from home for the night, I hung around home and caught up on errands. When I checked the weather report around 8:15, it looked a bit more promising so I headed out.

Arriving at the lake, I intended to fish for bluegill and pumpkinseed. After looking for a new weedbed to fish for a bit, I couldn’t find them because of a lack of tall weeds and called it quits. I knew that because the day was so overcast and with a bit of precipitation coming down, the fish would bite well if I could find them. I headed deep to look for the jumbo perch that I know are in the lake.

After punching a few holes,I started fishing. It quickly became apparent that the fish were there and aggressive. As I hopped around the holes, I would pick one or two fish at a time. They were moving around sporadically but would bite when located. I was loading up my jigs with as many maggots as I could fit on. As I caught fish, I found that they wouldn’t hit a jig that didn’t have at least four on it. 4

By the time I had to pack up and pick up minnows for the trip tonight, I had 28 fish in my bucket. For a mid day, winter perch bite on this lake this trip was exceptional! I got 56 big fillets for the freezer. In a few hours Bobby and I were set up waiting for walleye.

IMG_7842

IMG_7847

2 thoughts on “2-11-13 – The Day Bite”

Leave a comment